ExpressJet Pilots Elect New Officers

The ExpressJet MEC this week elected a new slate of officers to two-year terms, which will begin on September 1: Capt. Chris Belcastro as chairman, Capt. Jay Cowieson (re-elected) as vice chairman, and Capt. Sam Landry as secretary-treasurer.

“My fellow officers and I are honored to be elected to serve this pilot group during such a critical time. I am confident in our abilities to navigate the merger with Atlantic Southeast Airlines and accomplish the goals of our pilot group—a joint collective bargaining agreement that benefits all pilots and a fair and equitable seniority list integration,” said Capt. Belcastro.

“We look forward to building a premier regional airline together with a management team that respects and values its employees. However, this work starts at the bargaining table. Our pilots have made countless sacrifices over the years, and our contributions must be recognized in order for the merger to reach a successful conclusion.”

Capt. Belcastro, a Chicago-based pilot, currently serves as the chairman and captain representative for Local Council 176 (CLE/ORD). He has been actively involved in the Pilot-to-Pilot Committee, having served as a member, vice chairman, and chairman of the committee. A longtime volunteer, Capt. Belcastro was also heavily involved with ALPA’s efforts to organize pilots at Colgan, CommutAir, and SkyWest.

A Houston-based pilot, Capt. Cowieson has served as the vice chairman since Jan. 2011. Prior to his election, he was the vice chairman of the Negotiating Committee. He has also served on the Pilot-to-Pilot Committee, Security Committee, the Critical Incident Response Program, and the Pilot Mentor Program.

Capt. Landry, a Houston-based pilot, is the current secretary for ALPA’s Emergency Relief Fund. He previously served as chairman and captain representative for pilots of Local Council 175 (IAH) and the now-defunct Local Council 180 (LAX/ONT).